Tennis fitness tutorials, all in one place

When I started this blog a few months back, I made a commitment to getting back in shape.   Yeah, I wouldn’t mind losing a few pounds, but what I was really more concerned about was getting into “Tennis Shape”.   The problem was that I really didn’t know how to do it.

Here’s what I’ve learned on this journey to get into better Tennis condition:

  • I signed up for gym membership:  Good move.  It only costs $25-$30 a month and it prevents me from making the excuse that the weather is bad outside.
  • With the gym membership came a special deal on Personal Training sessions: Bad move.  Although they were significantly discounted, the trainer really didn’t understand what I was trying to do and put me into a fitness routine that meshed with his own agenda.  The discounted price was about $25 per session and would then jump to $50 per session after that.  Not worth it.
  • Why isn’t it worth it?  Mostly because there is an abundance of free content available on the good ol’ internets.  Instead of paying a trainer to stand there and count reps, my coach, Jeff Salzenstein has given me a list of exercises to focus on when I go to the gym.  Yes, he has showed me a few of the exercises in person, but most of the time, he tells me what to do, I find it on You Tube and I do it.  Easy as that.

Along the way, I have been collecting the videos that have helped my learn these exercises.  Below is the entire playlist, which as it stands now, is 20 videos and runs for almost 50 minutes.  If you don’t have time to watch the whole thing, you can bookmark these links:

You Tube Playlist: http://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL806BA7312CED2935

Let me know if this helps.  I will be adding more videos as I find them.

About Neal

tennis, go-karts, blogging, turkey sandwiches.

Posted on December 28, 2011, in Fitness. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment